Skip to main content

About schools and lifelong learning

Within North Somerset there are:

  • eight school nursery classes
  • 61 primary schools
  • 10 secondary schools
  • three special schools

The lifelong learning sector covers five key constituency groups:

  • Community learning and development (CLD) - covering adult and community learning/community based adult learning; community development, community education, development education, youth work, family learning and work with parents
  • Further education (FE) - embracing FE colleges, specialist institutions, sixth form colleges in England and post-16 learning provision in Wales
  • Higher education (HE) - including universities and colleges of HE
  • Libraries, archives and information services (LAIS)
  • Work based learning (WBL) - both publicly-funded and private sector training organisations concerned with the delivery of applied (vocational) training, which is primarily work based.

Weston College offer a wide range of full and part time courses and degrees. 

Weston College website

Back to top